Please use our contact form to submit a query regarding the Segway PT, how to purchase or rent, event opportunities, or related questions.

 
 

Segway Switzerland

Eichzun 4
3800 Unterseen

Phone: +41 (0)33 442 80 00
E-Mail: welcome@segway.ch

Our office is open between 8 am and 5 pm on weekdays.

 
 
 
Technology
 

Technology

Overview of the propulsion system (BSA)

The Segway PT uses a redundant means of propulsion to be able to safely control the vehicle even in the case of a component malfunction. The system consists of the following primary components:

  • A sensor module (Balance Sensor Assembly "BSA"), which includes a gyroscope and an acceleration measure and generates the signal for braking and acceleration commands. The module comprises two redundant systems that are controlled respectively by different control units and deliver sufficient data to steer and balance out the vehicle
  • Two control units (Control Unit "CU"), welche je einen Mikroprozessor für die Kontrolle der beiden Motoren umfassen, sowie zwei unabhängige Kontrolleinheiten, um die Motoren zuverlässig mit Energie zu versorgen
  • Two brushless electric DC motors, which each include two redundant electrical windings and are therefore able to propel each motor individually
  • Two lithium ion saphion accus that deliver sufficient energy for steering and propulsion

Redundance ensures high operating safety

The system is redundantly designed to guarantee safe braking at all times. During normal use the control units and accumulator components share the workload to permit continuous operation in an efficient operating range. In the case of a partial system malfunction one accumulator and one control unit can regulate half the windings from each motor and thus maintain balance and steering ability. The vehicle will brake to a safe stop and subsequently be switched off.

In the case of a malfunction during the drive the Segway PT executes a safety shutdown, which brings the driver to a safe stop in around 10 seconds or less. If the malfunction subsequently still exists, the system will no longer start up. The Segway PT permits no further operation if only a part of the propulsion system is available.

Comprehensive self control of the systems

Each control unit is able to monitor the other via communication channels in the sensor module. These communication channels are optically isolated to prevent breakdown. Complete communication and energy connections are monitored at 100Hz (100 times per second).

When the Segway PT is switched on, the system is thoroughly checked through before the vehicle can be started. In the case that both propulsion systems are unavailable, the vehicle cannot be started.

Powerful motors also when braking

Instead of using mechanical braking, the Segway PT relies on controlled braking from the high performance, brushless DC motors, which reach or surpass the braking capacity of other small means of transportation. The energy generated upon braking is fed back to the accumulators via the integrated recuperation system.

Sensor Module (BSA)

The bond compound of balance sensors, produced by Silicon Sensing Systems, is an elegantly constructed, extremely hardy and exceedingly sensitive device.

This small cube of approximately 7.6 cm side length contains five fixed ring vibration and winding measure sensors (gyroscopes) that use the Coriolis effect to measure the turning speed. These minute rings are brought to vibration electromechanically. When they are turned, a small amount of power is generated, through which the internal sensor electronics are measured.

Sensor Module (BSA)

Each gyroscope is fixed at an angle that allows the measuring of different directions of movement. The Segway PT’s board computer continually compares the information from all five gyroscopes and measures whether any of the five sensors deliver faulty data. If this is the case, the computer continues working with the data from the remaining sensors until a controlled safety shutdown occurs.
Two inclinometers that are filled with electrolyte fluid provide information about the gravitation in the same manner that our inner ear works together with our balance sense. The sensor module is monitored by two independent microprocessors and for redundancy reasons is in divided into two systems. In fact the communication to both system components is optically executed to prevent transfer of electrical malfunction from one side to the other.

Control Units (CU)

Two sophisticated circuit boards from Delphi electronics provide the brain and the muscles for the system. Delphi Electronics were chosen as a partner for their experience in mass production of high quality automobile electronics for sophisticated applications such as airbags.

Control Units (CU)

Each circuit board is fitted with a Texas Instruments signal processor that monitors the entire Segway PT system and checks 100 times per second for any malfunction or other conditions that require an immediate reaction. It reads the information from the balance sensors to determine whether the driver leans forwards or backwards. This information is supplied without time delay to conduct the energy from the accumulator through a set of 12 "high energy-high electricity-field effect transistors" (FET’s) to the motors. These calculations occur one hundred times per second and the motors are adjusted up to one thousand times per second, a reaction time that far exceeds human perception time. After a malfunction, each circuit board of the Segway PT can completely steer the other board. Each board is connected with the electrical circuits of both motors and under normal operating conditions, the processing power is divided.

Motors

The motors of the Segway PT are unique in many ways. Produced by Pacific Scientific, a business branch of Danaher, they are the most powerful motors that have ever been produced in their weight and size class. Both motors require 330 watts for continuous operation and produce a short time peak performance of up to 4 PS.

Motors

The motors use brushless servo-technology. This means there are no mechanical contacts that wear out and thereby reduce output. The magnets are comprised of an extremely powerful and rare earth metal: Neodym-Iron-Bor. Each motor is fitted with two independent windings, from which each of it’s own circuit boards are steered. Under normal conditions of use, the windings work parallel to each other and divide the workload. In the case of a malfunction the motor deactivates the malfunctioning winding and controls the remaining one to maintain control over the Segway PT until it is brought to a stop. The motor accurately calibrates the output from up to 8000 turns per minute, which enables a very high power level within a short range. By measuring the position of the magnets, redundant, contactless and analogue sensors give feedback from the motor to the control units. The motor axis is the only movable part.

Gearbox

The gearbox of the Segway PT, a joint development from Axicon Technologies and Segway is more comparable to a Swiss precision clock than a traditional automobile. A two-step system offers a 24:1 gear reduction that enables operation of the motor at a powerful and efficient speed level across the full range of speeds of the Segway PT.

Gearbox

Each gear step is cut in a spiral formed profile and this type of connection minimises noise and increases the maximum permissible load. The number of teeth on each gear level has been selected, so that non-integral gear ration achieved is. This means the teeth grip on a different gearing place on every turn and therefore the lifespan of the gearbox is increased. Segway engineers have developed the gearing teeth so that the emerging sounds lie exactly two musical octaves apart from each other. When the Segway PT moves, it makes music rather than noise. The gearbox is preassembled, lubricated and requires no further maintenance during the total lifespan of the Segway PT. It has been tested over thousands of kilometres under hard working conditions.

Tyres

Michelin was the first partner in the development of the Segway PT. The tyres of the Segway PT were specially developed for this vehicle and employ a unique compound of silicon dioxide instead of the traditionally used carbon based material. This offers increased stability and minimises markings, particularly on indoor floors. The tyres are fitted with special tubes and require a low tyre pressure. This special development minimises frictional resistance thereby increasing driving comfort.

Tyres

The tyres are mounted on a similarly unique wheel for the PT i2: the wheels are composed of a highly developed fiberglass hardened thermoplastic, which was chosen in conjunction with GE Plastics. The composite material enables nominal weight and excellent durability while reducing noise from the propulsion system. Tyres for the PT x2 are the tubeless, low pressure tyres in the versions “Offroad” and “Turf”. As well as increased suspension, these tyres offer better traction properties on terrain. The offroad tyres can also be fitted with snow chains.

Batteries

The new Segway PT models are assembled with saphion lithium ion batteries. Segway chose to work with Valence Technology, the leading developers of efficient and safe accumulators. The base for the new accumulators is formed by Saphion ® technology (patented from Valence), which is made from phosphates. Saphion is stable and safe and therefore the ideal solution for daily use. It has a longer lifespan than the traditional NiMH accumulators.

The range is increased while the charging time is reduced. Every accu comprises a compound of high performance cells and a specially developed circuit board that permanently monitors the temperature and tension on the batteries from different positions.

The accu casing is sealed by a vibrating welding method, which forms the exterior of the compound into one single, consistent structure. The seal protects against moisture and remains so strong that it flawlessly stands up to complete and extreme testing. The accus’ integrated electronics enable "intelligent" charging. The owner plugs the Segway into a power point and the accumulator itself chooses the appropriate charging speed based on temperature, tension and current charge level. The accu is quickly charged and switches then into idle and maintenance modes. The Segway PT owner must spare no thought about timing - simply plug in and the rest happens automatically.

Under normal operating conditions the Segway PT reliably monitors both batteries and consistently discharges them. In the case of battery failure, the system can come safely to an emergency stop with only one battery.

 
Logo

Segway Switzerland

Eichzun 4, 3800 Unterseen
Phone: +41 (0)33 442 80 00
E-Mail: welcome@segway.ch

Avez-vous une question à propos du Segway TP, de la vente, de la location ou d’un autre sujet?
Nous sommes impatients de vous lire.

 
 

Segway Suisse

Eichzun 4
3800 Unterseen

Téléphone: +41 (0)33 442 80 00
E-Mail: welcome@segway.ch

Nos bureaux sonst ouverts les jours de semaine de 8 à 17 heures.

 
 
 
Technologie
 

Technologie

Aperçu sur le système de propulsion (BSA)

Le gyropode Segway PT est muni d’un système de propulsion redondant pour garantir que, même en cas de panne d’un moteur, un arrêt contrôlé puisse être garanti. Le système comprend les composants suivants:

  • Un système de capteurs d’équilibre (Balance Sensor Assembly "BSA") composé de gyroscopes et de capteurs d’accélération qui génèrent les signaux d’accélération et de freinage. Les éléments sont redondants, c’est à dire que deux systèmes indépendants, surveillés par des unités de contrôle différentes, fournissent suffisamment de données permettant de stabiliser et de gérer les déplacements du véhicule
  • Deux unités de pilotage (Control Unit "CU") équipées chacune d’un microprocesseur pour le contrôle des deux moteurs ainsi que deux systèmes indépendants de contrôle pour garantir l’approvisionnement énergétique régulier des moteurs.
  • Deux moteurs électriques à courant alternatif sans balais alimentés par deux bobines électriques indépendantes et redondantes permettant de faire fonctionner les moteurs indépendamment l’un de l’autre.
  • Deux batteries lithium ion Saphion générant suffisamment d’énergie pour la propulsion et la conduite.

La redondance garantit une grande sécurité pendant l’utilisation

Le système est conçu pour permettre en tout temps un freinage efficace et sans danger pour le conducteur. En utilisation normale, les deux unités de commande et les batteries se partagent la charge, ce qui permet un déroulement efficient des fonctions de tous les éléments. En cas de panne d’un composant du système, une batterie et une unité de contrôle prennent immédiatement en charge une des bobines de chaque moteur, assurant ainsi la stabilité du véhicule et la continuité de la conduite. Le véhicule est alors immédiatement freiné puis automatiquement déclenché.

Si un problème grave se produit pendant un déplacement, le Segway PT effectue un arrêt automatique laissant au conducteur un laps de temps d’environ 10 secondes pour mettre pied à terre. Si le problème perdure, le système ne se remettra pas en marche. Il n’est donc pas possible de faire circuler le gyropode avec un système partiellement en état de marche. 

Un système qui se surveille lui-même

Chaque unité de commande dispose d’un canal de communication pour le contrôle des modules de captage. Ces canaux de communication sont isolés pour éviter des fautes de fonctionnement. Toutes les connexions énergétiques sont contrôlées 100 fois par seconde (100 Hz).

Lors de l’enclenchement du Segway, tous les systèmes sont testés complètement avant la mise en service du véhicule. Si les tests ne sont pas positifs, le système ne se met pas en marche, rendant ainsi une utilisation du véhicule tout simplement impossible. 

Des moteurs puissants assurent aussi le freinage

Le gyropode Segway PT ne dispose pas d’un système de freins mécaniques. Ses moteurs puissants sans balais assurent en toute circonstance un freinage rapide et efficace. Chaque freinage permet la récupération d’énergie qui est aussitôt emmagasinée dans les batteries.

Capteurs d’équilibre (BSA)

Le capteur d’équilibre (BSA) produit par Silicon Sensing Systems est un modèle d’élégance pour un appareil extrêmement résistant et particulièrement sensible. Ce petit cube de 7.6 cm de long contient 5 gyroscopes utilisant l’effet Corioli pour mesurer la vitesse de déplacement du Segway. Ces petits anneaux vibrent sous l’effet de champs électromécaniques. Lorsqu’ils tournent, ils génèrent un faible courant qui est mesurés par des capteurs internes.

Sensor Module

Chaque gyroscope est fixé sur un angle différent pour mesurer les mouvements dans toutes les directions. L’ordinateur de bord compare continuellement les informations des cinq capteurs, pour vérifier leurs parfaits fonctionnements. En cas d’erreur d’un capteur, le système continue à travailler jusqu’à l’arrêt complet du véhicule. Deux capteurs d’inclinaison, contenant un liquide électrolyte, fonctionnent de la même manière que notre oreille interne et informent en permanence le système sur l’équilibre du véhicule. Le BSA est contrôlé par deux processeurs indépendants. Les informations entre ces deux éléments sont transmises visuellement pour éliminer tout risque d’erreur de transmission électrique.

Système de contrôle (CU)

Deux platines de contrôle "Delphi Electronics" tiennent le rôle du cerveau et des muscles dans ce système. Delphi Electronics, entreprise de pointe dans le domaine des systèmes de mensuration (notamment des systèmes de gestion des coussins d’air pour automobiles "airbag"), les a développées pour Segway Inc. 

Steuereinheiten

Chaque circuit, équipé d’un processeur Texas Instrument, surveille tout le système de stabilisation et de propulsion une centaine de fois par seconde. Les informations des capteurs d’équilibre (BSA) permettent au CU de connaître la position du Segway et de gérer sans délai le flux d’énergie commandant les moteurs à 12 transistors à haute puissance (FET). Le système réagit en ajustant les moteurs en quelques millièmes de secondes, un temps de réaction nettement plus rapide que celui de n’importe quel être humain! En cas de panne, chaque circuit est capable, à lui seul, de contrôler tous les systèmes durant le temps nécessaire pour assurer un freinage et arrêt d’urgence du véhicule. En cas de panne, chaque circuit peut assumer à lui seul, la globalité du contrôle de l’appareil – normalement le travail est divisé entre les deux circuits.

Moteurs

Les moteurs du Segway HT sont uniques à plus d’un titre. Construits par Pacific Scientific, une division de Danaher, ils développent une puissance remarquable par rapport à leurs poids et dimensions. Chaque moteur consomme quelques 330 watts en service continu et est capable de développer une puissance de pointe de 4 CV.

Motoren

Les moteurs utilisent la technologie Servo Brushless (sans balais). Il n’y a pas de contact entre les composants, donc pas d’usure ni perte de puissance. Le cœur des aimants est fait d’un métal très rare, le neodym-fer-bor, qui est doté de propriétés magnétiques puissances. Chaque moteur comporte deux bobines indépendantes et commandées par deux systèmes différents. En service normal, les deux bobines travaillent en parfaite collaboration. En cas de problème, le système désactive la bobine défectueuse, permettant au moteur de continuer à fonctionner à moindre puissance jusqu'à l’arrêt du véhicule. Les moteurs ont été soigneusement calibrés pour atteindre 8000 rotations par minute, ce qui constitue une puissance remarquable pour des moteurs de cette dimension. Des capteurs redondants, sans contacts et analogiques surveillent la position des aimants et informent en permanence les unités de contrôle sur le fonctionnement des moteurs. La seule partie mouvante du moteur est l’axe.

Boîte à vitesses

La boîte à vitesses du gyropode Segway a été développée en collaboration par Axicon Technologies et Segway et est comparable au mouvement d’une montre Suisse plutôt qu’à une boîte à vitesses d’une automobile. Un système d’engrenages à deux vitesses au rapport de 24 :1 permet aux moteurs de doser précisément la vitesse du véhicule sur toutes les plages de vitesses possibles.

Getriebe

Le nombre des rouages a été calculé pour éviter que les dents ne soient toujours en face des mêmes encoches. Elles s’emboîtent toujours dans des encoches différentes, réduisant l’usure et contribuant ainsi à augmenter la durée de vie de la boîte à vitesses.  Les ingénieurs de Segway se sont amusés à changer les sons émis par les moteurs aux différentes vitesses sur une plage d’une octave. Un Segway en déplacement ne fait pas du bruit, mais de la musique! La boîte à vitesses ne nécessite aucun entretien particulier pendant toute la durée de vie du gyropode Segway. Des tests préalables ont prouvés qu’elle est capable de fonctionner pendant des milliers de kilomètres.

Pneus et roues

Michelin a participé activement au développement des pneus du gyropode Segway. Le mélange de dioxyde de silicium utilisé pour leur fabrication garantit des conditions d’adhérence optimales. Même sur des sols à l’intérieur des bâtiments ils ne laissent pas de trace. Les pneus sans chambres à air sont gonflés à basse pression. Grâce aux qualités intrinsèques de ce pneu exclusif, la conduite du véhicule est confortable et la résistance au frottement minime.

Bereifung

Les pneus sont montés sur des jantes en thermoplastique, développées exclusivement pour le PT i2 par Segway Inc en collaboration avec GE Plastics. Le plastique utilisé est à la fois léger et robuste et réduit les bruits du système de transmission. Les pneumatiques du PT x2 dans ses versions tous terrains et golf sont également sans chambres à air et gonflés très faiblement pour permettre une conduite agréable et améliorer la traction des roues sur des terrains naturels. Les pneus tous terrains peuvent aussi être équipés de chaînes à neige.

Batteries

Le Segway HT est équipé de deux batteries NiMH de 72 Volt NiMH développées avec SAFT (sous-division d’Alcatel). Ces cellules de Nickel –hydrure métalliques offrent une bonne performance énergétique par rapport au standard de chimie actuel. Elles furent optimisées pour garder le Segway en équilibre dans des conditions extrêmes. Le Segway PT est équipé de batteries lithium ion Saphion. De Valence Technology, leader dans de la production de batteries combinant sécurité et efficience. La technologie de base Saphion®, à base de phosphates, est brevetée par Valence. Saphion est stable et sûr et constitue la solution idéale pour un usage quotidien et longue durée de vie.

Par rapport aux batteries conventionnelles NiMH, leur rayon d’action est plus grand et leur chargement plus rapide. Chaque batterie est composée d’un ensemble de cellules de haute performance et d’une platine de contrôle sophistiquée. Elle mesure en permanence la température et la tension des accumulateurs.

Le boîtier de la batterie est soudé par une méthode spéciale, fermant hermétiquement le logement des éléments. La batterie est parfaitement protégée contre l’humidité et est devenue si solide qu’elle a résisté à tous les tests auxquels elle a été soumise. Le système électronique de contrôle de la batterie permet une recharge «intelligente». Il suffit de connecter le Segway au réseau. La batterie choisit la vitesse de charge en se basant sur l’état de charge, la température et la tension. Les batteries se chargent rapidement et passent ensuite automatiquement en mode d’entretien. Il n’est pas nécessaire de se soucier de la longueur du temps de charge, ni de craindre une surcharge des batteries. Le système prend soin automatiquement du bon état des accumulateurs.

En usage normal, le Segway PT contrôle l’état des batteries et les décharge simultanément. Si l’une des batteries devait exceptionnellement tomber en panne, la seconde générerait automatiquement l’énergie nécessaire pour permettre au véhicule de s’arrêter sans danger pour son conducteur.